Teachers Of The Year And Educational Services Professionals Of The Year Are Announced For 2018 – 2019 School Year

The votes are in and the results for Teacher of the Year and Educational Services Professional of the Year in each school have been announced.

“On behalf of the District Administration and the Board of Education, I want to congratulate those selected in each school,” says Superintendent of Schools Silvia Abbato.  “We also know that each of our teachers and service professionals strive every day to help our students be their best, and the competition in each school was very close.  We thank all of you for their efforts.” 

The awards are voted on by a panel of administrators and teachers in each school.

The Teachers of the Year for 2018-2019 are: Juliane DeGennaro, Veterans School; Susan Aziz, Edison School; Ileana Ramos, Early Childhood Center; Megan Carricarte, Gilmore Academy; Christine Nardone, Emerson Middle School; Sandra Cancel, Robert Waters School; Solangie Ramirez, Jefferson School; Barbara Proietto, Washington School; Cassandra Velasquez Murphy, Union Hill Middle School; Frances Aluotto, Roosevelt School; Paula Leguizamon, Union City High School; Jennier Kotchkowski, Jose Marti Freshman Academy; Lidia Menjivar, Hudson School; and Anna Voropanova, Colin Powell School.

The Educational Service Professionals of the Year for 2019-2019 are: Fanny Peralta, Veterans School; Anita Cruz, Edison School; Kathi Smith, Early Childhood Center; Jeannette Torres, Gilmore Academy; Sandra Zimmer, Emerson Middle School; Elia Russo, Robert Waters School; Jose Vaca, Jefferson School; Maria Kanik, Washington School; Joseph Schmidt, Union Hill Middle School; Giselle Espino, Roosevelt School; Maria Douros, Union City High School; Stacey Rennie, Jose Marti Freshman Academy; Melissa Acinapura, Hudson School; and Michele Mercado, Colin Powell School.